Important Information

Cedarhurst court will be closed until further notice. This includes all present and future court dates. If you have any questions, please call the court at 516-295-5522.

Cedarhurst Will Never Forget

Posted on


On 9/11/2001 we saw evil first hand but we also saw the best of America.  Fifteen years after the tragic events of that day, the Village of Cedarhurst held its annual Memorial Ceremony on Sunday at 6:30 p.m. at the Memorial Plaza in Andrew J. Parise Park.  We honored 7 members of our community that were killed in the collapse of the World Trade Center.  Thomas E. Jurgens, Neil D. Levin, Kevin O’Rourke, Joseph Rivelli Jr., Bettina Browne Radburn, Ira Zaslow, and Howard Selwyn.

“We gather here today to remember, to pause, to reflect and to never, ever, forget, those members of our community who we honor in our 9/11 Memorial Plaza and on our Monument, and all victims, first responders, firefighters, police and court officers. It is our small way of honoring and cherishing their memory”, said Mayor Benjamin Weinstock in his heartfelt remarks.

Religious leaders of various faiths and elected officials attended the ceremony as well as to offer words of wisdom, healing and hope.  The vocal ensemble of LHS added inspiring songs to the solemn atmosphere.  Taps were played after memorializing those names from our community, and a bell rung as each name was pronounced.

At the conclusion of the ceremony the Firefighters from the Lawrence-Cedarhurst, Meadowmere Park and Inwood Fire Departments, Members of the Lawrence Cedarhurst American Legion and Nassau County Police & Auxiliary Officers marched to a spontaneous standing ovation and applause.  It was quite a moment to experience.

Mayor, Benjamin Weinstock and the Board of Trustees would like to personally thank the chaplain of the Law-Ced Fire Department, Rev. Msgr. Paul F. Rahilly, Pastor Emeritus of St Joachim’s RC Church, Rabbi Aryeh Ginzberg of Chofetz Chaim Torah Center, Bruce Blakeman, Town of Hempstead Councilman, LHS Vocal Ensemble Jason Eras, & Monet Bond, and Trumpet player Jerry Reyes.

They also want to especially thank Chief Dave Campbell and the Lawrence-Cedarhurst Fire Department, Chief Frank Parise and the Inwood Fire Department, Chief Joseph Bouderau, of the Meadowmere Park Fire Department, Sgt. Kenneth Catalani, Deputy Inspector of the Nassau County Police Department 4th Precinct, and Deputy Inspector Danny Gluck of the Nassau County Auxiliary Police, and Commander Syd Mandelbaum of the Lawrence-Cedarhurst American Legion.

The Mayor also thanked JoMarie Capone, for organizing the program and Wayne Yarnell, Vincent Castagna and Dominic Bellantuno for their assistance in running the technical aspects of the program.

The Village acknowledged with appreciation the large audience of Five Town residents for attending and bringing dignity, grace and honor to a day that will forever be etched in American history.